Thoughts of a Language Learner

I’ve been to countries where I speak the main language and I have also been to countries where I can’t even order a water without embarrassing myself. Currently, I am in Mexico as a Spanish student and it is my first time visiting a place where I am learning and practicing the language.

Initially, it was extremely difficult for me to open my mouth and vocalize the Spanish I was so accustomed to reading, writing and hearing. Speaking has been my greatest struggle especially because I pressure myself to speak correctly and quickly like the locals. More often than not, I subconsciously say something in English, then default to Urdu, until finally the Spanish comes out.

rosca.JPG
At the Rosca celebration of El Día de los Tres Reyes Magos (Three Kings Day); this guy told me I couldn’t take a picture of the rosca unless he was in it

The most effective method I discovered to communicating is just speaking and not worrying about conjugating incorrectly or mispronouncing a word. After a few days of speaking with my host family and also with the locals on the streets, I realized that there really is no problem in taking my time and even asking the other person to slow down every once in a while. Being corrected over and over again has also been very helpful in improving my speaking abilities. I have been here for a little over two weeks and both myself and my host mom have noticed a significant improvement in my speech.

The most frustrating aspect for a vocal person like myself is being unable to express my thoughts and feelings as adequately as I am able to do in both English and Urdu. Often, I find myself having to settle for the basic expressions: “how interesting”, “it’s okay” and “I like it” among others. As I continue to learn more elaborate phrases, these will have to suffice as backup.

playa.JPG
La Playa de Progreso

Although learning a foreign language is definitely a difficult task to accomplish, it is incredibly worthwhile. At the weekly Sunday fiesta downtown, my friends and I listened to a couple’s comedy act, which left me feeling discouraged because they spoke rapidly and I barely understood anything they said when usually my listening and comprehension skills are very good. Then that same day, I had an interaction with an English-speaking foreigner that lifted my spirits. He was standing behind me in line with his kids at a fast food restaurant. I noticed him and the cashier trying to communicate as he struggled to order. I asked him if I could help and eagerly he said yes, so I proceeded to translate his order and afterwards he thanked me several times.

This moment reminded me why I chose to study a foreign language and essentially it is to help others in any way no matter how big or small. I felt redetermined and now I use this point in my trip as motivation to continue practicing and growing in my multilingual pursuits.

flag.JPG
In El Centro of the city

I have learned so much about the Mexican lifestyle, Spanish, and of course, the interconnectedness of humans around the world in such a short amount of time. There is no telling what other experiences lie ahead in this vibrant and lively country.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sartenada says:

    Wonderful post. Spanish is easy language. I learnt it when I worked 4½ months in Spain. Welcome to read my blog in English and Spanish. Bienvenido a conocerte mi tierra en el norte.

    Sartenada’s blog.

    Like

    1. Kunza Shakil says:

      thank you so much! Voy a leerlo!

      Like

Leave a Reply

